Wednesday, February 07, 2018

Canadians Maxwell & Empringham Win DP Class At Daytona - February 2, 2003

February 2, 2003
Multimatic Motorsports teammates, Scott Maxwell and Dave Empringham of Toronto, along with David Brabham of England, drove the  Ford/Multimatic Daytona Prototype to class victory at the Rolex 24 at Daytona.
Multimatic goes down in the record books as being the first Motorsports team to win the new Daytona Prototype Class in the 41st running of the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona. The car was designed and developed completely by Multimatic, starting in 2002.

After setting the pole, the Multimatic Motorsports team remained in contention for the outright victory until very late in the event. The overall win went to The Racers Group Porsche/GT3RS of Kevin Buckler, Michael Schrom, Timo Bernhard and Jorg Bergmeister.

Other Canadians in the field were; Scott Goodyear 5th, Ross Bentley 7th, David Shep 15th, Kenny Wilden 30th-engine,  Sylvain Tremblay 31st-crash, Chris Bye 34th-engine,  Robert Julien and Dave Lacey 35th-crash.   

No comments: